Travel and Tourism Committee

Home About the RAI Committees Travel and Tourism Committee

The Travel and Tourism Committee promotes the anthropological study of tourism through activities that further understanding of the role of tourism in shaping the social and cultural dynamics of human activity.   We work to foster links with social anthropologists interested in tourism within the UK and overseas to identify common areas of interest and collaborative opportunities.  Our activities include conference panels, seminars, publications and the promotion of empirical research.  The committee convenes twice a year.

Secretary: Catherine Palmer

The current Committee members are: Hazel Andrews (Chair), Tom Carter, Naomi Leite, Jo-Anne Lester, Catherine Palmer, Jonathan Skinner, Raoul Bianchi, Helen Wadham, Ken Dark, Sadie Hale, Michele Fontefrancesco, Jens Augspurger, Nivedita Singh