SQA Units: Social Anthropology

Home Education For Teachers SQA Units: Social Anthropology

The Scottish Qualification Authority (SQA) offers a range of qualifications in the area of Social Sciences which cover a broad range of subject areas – Criminology, Economics, Geography, History, Modern Studies, Philosophy, Religious, Moral and Philosophical Studies, Politics, Psychology and Sociology. Recently, the subject of Social Anthropology has been added to this portfolio.

Four Social Anthropology stand-alone units have been developed:

Social Anthropology: Understanding our Place in the World
SCQF level 5
1 unit credit

Social Anthropology: Who does it and how to do it
SCQF level 6
1 unit credit

Social Anthropology: The Body and its Life Course
SCQF level 7
1 unit credit 

Social Anthropology: Ethnography of Scottish Peoples
SCQF level 8
2 unit credits 

About these units:
SQA offers a unitised system of qualifications.Units are qualifications in their own right but can be grouped together to form other qualifications of varying sizes. 1 unit credit equates to 40 hours of teaching input and directed study plus 40 hours of self-study.

The SCQF level 5 and 6 units are included within the National Certificate group awards at SCQF levels 5 and 6.

The SCQF level 6, 7 and 8 units are included within the Higher National Certificate and Higher National Diploma group awards at SCQF levels 7 and 8.

See also: Guide to Scottish Qualifications and the SQA Website