Loading Events


The 2011 AGM will take place on Monday 3 October 2011 at 3.00 pm in the Stevenson Lecture Theatre, Clore Education Centre, British Museum, London WC1. It will be followed by the 2011 Curl Lecture.

All are welcome. Only RAI Fellows may vote at the AGM.


3.00 pm: Tea
3.30 pm: AGM
5.00 pm (approximately)
Curl Lecture, to be given by Dr Graeme Were, on
On the Materials of Mats: thinking through design in a Pacific society

Following the AGM and lecture, there will be a drinks reception for all present


1. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 23 September 2010

2. Annual Report of the Council for 2010

3. Appointment of Auditors (Current auditors: H.W. Fisher and Company, Chartered Accountants)

4. Election of Officers and Council for the year 2011-2012 (see overleaf for House List)

5. Announcement of elections of the Huxley Memorial Lecturer and Henry Myers Lecturer for 2012

6. Presentation of the Rivers Memorial Medal for 2011 to Professor Robert Foley

7. Presentation of the Lucy Mair Medal for 2011 to Professor Catherine Panter-Brick

8. Presentation of the Patron’s Medal for 2011 to Mrs Hilary Callan

9. Any other business


(for election of Officers and Council under agenda item 4)

Names proposed by Council (new nominations marked with *)
All nominations are subject to the election of candidates as RAI Fellows for the year(s) in which they hold office. Former Presidents are ex officio Vice Presidents and not listed below.

President: Professor Clive Gamble*

Elected Vice Presidents: Professor Elizabeth Edwards, Professor André Singer, Professor Brian Street

Hon Secretary: Dr Eric Hirsch

Hon Librarian: Professor C. Thomas Selwyn

Hon Treasurer: Dr Julie Scott

Ordinary members of Council

Dr Nicolas Argenti
Dr Paul Basu
Dr Lissant Bolton
Professor Sophie Day
Dr Melissa Demian
Professor Robin Dunbar FBA
Dr Yulia Egorova
Professor Richard Fardon FBA
Professor Chris Gosden FBA
Professor Joy Hendry
Professor Jeremy MacClancy
Professor Trevor Marchand*
Dr Isak Niehaus
Professor Judith Okely*
Dr Melissa Parker
Professor Alexander Robertson
Professor Robert Simpson
Dr James Staples*
Dr Dimitri Tsintjilonis
Dr Simon Underdown

Article 42(b) of the Articles of Association states:
In addition to the candidates named in the House List, any member (Fellow) may be nominated for election as an Officer or a member of Council provided such member shall not have been disqualified under these presents.
Nominations shall be in writing and signed by at least two members (Fellows) eligible to vote and accompanied by a statement in writing by the nominee expressing his willingness to serve if elected. Nominations must have been lodged with the Secretary not later than three days before the Annual General Meeting.