Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

RAI AGM 2014 followed by the Henry Myers Lecture

September 12 2014 @ 3:00 pm - 8:00 pm


The 2014 AGM will take place on Friday 12 September at 3.00 pm in the BP Lecture Theatre, Clore Education Centre, British Museum, London WC1. It will be followed by the 2014 Henry Myers Lecture.

All are welcome. Only RAI Fellows may vote at the AGM. Formal notification of the AGM has also been published in Anthropology Today.


3.00 pm: Tea
3.30 pm: AGM
5.00 pm (approximately): Henry Myers Lecture, to be given by Prof David Wengrow, on Farewell to the “Childhood of Man”: Ritual, Seasonality, and the Origins of Inequality

Following the AGM and lecture, there will be a drinks reception for all present.


1.    Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 20 September 2013

2.    Annual Report of the Council for 2013

3.    Appointment of Auditors (Current auditors: H.W. Fisher and Company, Chartered Accountants)

4.    Election of Officers and Council for the year 2014-2015 (see overleaf for House List)

5.    Announcement of elections of the Huxley Memorial Lecturer and Curl Lecturer for 2015

6.    Rivers Memorial Medal for 2014 [Professor Trevor Marchand]

7.    Lucy Mair Medal for 2014 [Dr Barbara Harrell-Bond]

8.    Any other business

(for election of Officers and Council under agenda item 4)

Names proposed by Council (new nominations marked with *)
All nominations are subject to the election of candidates as RAI Fellows for the year(s) in which they hold office. Former Presidents are ex officio Vice Presidents and not listed below.

President: Professor André Singer*

Elected Vice Presidents: Professor Raymond Apthorpe, Dr Lissant Bolton, Dr Simon Underdown
Hon Secretary: Dr Eric Hirsch

Hon Librarian: Dr Michael Scott*

Hon Treasurer: Dr Julie Scott

Ordinary members of Council

Dr Simone Abram*
Dr Mary Adams
Professor Tim Allen
Dr Paul Basu*
Professor Sue Black
Professor Pat Caplan*
Dr Sarah Elton
Professor David Gellner
Professor Victoria Goddard
Dr Rachel Gooberman-Hill
Professor John Gowlett
Dr Kate Hill
Dr Fiona Jordan
Professor Jeremy MacClancy
Dr Melissa Parker
Dr Raj Puri
Dr Howard Reid
Professor Brian Street
Professor Christina Toren*
Professor Julian Thomas

Article 42(b) of the Articles of Association states:
In addition to the candidates named in the House List, any member (Fellow) may be nominated for election as an Officer or a member of Council provided such member shall not have been disqualified under these presents.
Nominations shall be in writing and signed by at least two members (Fellows) eligible to vote and accompanied by a statement in writing by the nominee expressing his willingness to serve if elected. Nominations must have been lodged with the Secretary not later than three days before the Annual General Meeting.


September 12 2014
3:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Category: