Royal Anthropological Institute Film Prize Past Recipients

Home Past Awards Royal Anthropological Institute Film Prize Past Recipients
2023 How to Save a Dead Friend (Marusya Syroechkovskaya, Sweden/Norway/France/Germany)
Commendation Little Palestine, Diary of a Siege (Abdallah Al-Khatib, Lebanon/France/Qatar)
2021 A Colombian Family (Tanja Wol Sørensen, Columbia, 2020)
 Commendation Ayouni (Yasmin Fedda, France/Germany/Iraq/Italy/Lebanon/Syrian Arab Republic/United Kingdom, 2020)
 Special Mention Survivors (WeOwnTV, Sierra Leone, 2018)

2019 Of Love and Law (Hikaru Toda, Japan/UK, 2017)
Special Commendation Abu (Arshad Kahn, Canada, 2017)
2017 Lampedusa in Winter (Jakob Brossmann, Austria/Switzerland/Italy, 2015)
Special Commendation Kivalina (Gina Abatemarco, USA, 2016)
2015 Baka: A Cry from the Rainforest (Phil Agland, UK, 2013)
Special Commendations The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers (Ed Owles, UK, 2014)
Kalanda: The Knowledge of the Bush (Lorenzo Ferrarini, UK, 2014) *
2013 The Bastard Sings the Sweetest Song (Christy Garland, Canada/Denmark, 2012) *
Special Commendation Soldier on the Roof (Esther Hertog, Netherlands, Israel, 2012)
2011 Other Europe (Rosella Schillaci, Italy, 2011) *
Summer Pasture (Lynn True and Nelson Walker III, China, 2010)
Birds’ Way (Klara Trencsenyi and Vlad Naumescu, Romania, 2009)

2009 Bury the Hatchet (Aaron Walker, USA, 2009)
2007 Every Good Marriage Begins with Tears (Simon Chambers, UK, 2006) *
Special Commendations A Hospice in Amsterdam (Steef PM Meyknecht, Netherlands, 2005) *
The Agouti’s Peanut (Paturi Paraná, Komoi Paraná, Brasil, 2005)
2005 Koriam’s Law and the Dead who Govern (Gary Kildea and Andrea Simon, Australia) *
Special Commendation Between Two Villages (Entre deux villages/Entre duas terras) (Muriel Jaquerod and Eduardo Saravia Pereira, Switzerland/Portugal, 2003) *
2003 Duka’s Dilemma (Jean Lydall, Germany 2001) *
Special Commendation Letter to the Dead (Eytan Kapon, France 2002) *
2000 Divorce Iranian Style (Kim Longinotto and Ziba Mir-Hosseini, UK 1998) *

1998 no prize awarded
1996 Conversations with Dundiwuy Wanambi (Ian Dunlop and Philippa Deveson, Australia 1995/96) *
1994 We are all Neighbours (Debbie Christie and Tone Bringa, DWS, UK 1993) *
Special Commendation Survivors of the Rainforest (Andy Jillings, UK, 1993)
1992 Mursi The Land is Bad / Nitha (Leslie Woodhead and David Turton, UK 1990/91) *
Special Commendation The Same as You (Alan Jones, UK, NFTS, 1991)
1990 The Women Who Smile (Joanna Head and Jean Lydall, UK) and Les Mémoires de Binduti Da (Michèle Fidloux and Jacques Lombard, France, 1989)
Special Commendations Uksuum CauyaiThe Drums of Winter (Leonard Kamerling and Sarah Elder, USA, 1988) and Djungguwan at Gurka’wuy (Ian Dunlop, Australia, 1990)
1988 Baka People of the Rainforest (Phil Agland, UK, 1987)
Special Commendations Better than Nick (Andy Jillings, UK, 1987)
El Sebou (Fadwa El Guindi, USA, 1986)

1986 Two Ways of Justice (Melissa Llewelyn-Davies, UK, 1984)
1984 Celso and Cora (Gary Kildea, Australia, 1983) *
Special Commendation The Women’s Olamal (Melissa Llewelyn-Davies, UK, 1984)
1982 Waiting for Harry (Kim McKenzie and Les Hiatt, Australia, 1980) *
The Wedding Camels (David MacDougall and Judith MacDougall, Australia, 1976) *